Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Center for Labor Research and Education


Scroll to top


Inventory of US City and County Minimum Wage Ordinances

Across the country, cities and counties have become laboratories of policy innovation on labor standards. Before 2012, only five localities had minimum wage laws; currently, 52 counties and cities do. To help inform policymakers and other stakeholders, the UC Berkeley Labor Center is maintaining an up-to-date inventory of these laws, with details on wage levels, scheduled increases, and other law details, as well as links to the ordinances.

Note that several minimum wage ordinances have been overturned, including Birmingham, AL; Miami Beach, FL; Louisville and Lexington, KY; Johnson, Lee, Linn, Polk, and Wapello Counties in Iowa; St. Louis, MO; and Kansas City, MO.

In December 2019 Tacoma, WA, repealed its minimum wage ordinance because Washington State’s minimum wage surpassed that of Tacoma.

The Minimum Wage Inventory includes only minimum wages that were set by local ordinance; it does NOT include localities whose separate minimum wage was set by state law. All information in the inventory is for informational purposes only and is not for the purpose of providing legal advice or documentation. Despite our best efforts, our inventory may not be immediately updated to reflect changes in laws, and may contain inaccuracies. Information on minimum wages should be confirmed with individual localities.

» View the detailed inventory (Excel)excel

(last updated 02-13-2020)


Snapshot: Cities and Counties with Minimum Wage Ordinances