People

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • Newsletter

Staff

Anhara Alexander

Administrative Officer

aalexander@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile
Gray version of UC Berkeley Labor Center logo.

Francisco Arzú

Co-Director, Green Economy Program

farzu@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Elizabeth Avila

Program Coordinator

eavilaa@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Devon Baker

Program Coordinator

devonbaker@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile
Gray version of UC Berkeley Labor Center logo.

Sierra Barton-Peterson

Program Coordinator

snbarton@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Annette Bernhardt

Director, Technology and Work Program

annette.bernhardt@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Jaz Brisack

Practitioner in Residence

jbrisack@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Alex Caputo-Pearl

Practitioner in Residence

acaputopearl@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Ana Cervantes

Financial Analyst

cervantes.ana@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Miranda Dietz

Policy Research Specialist

miranda.dietz@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Pamela Egan

Director, Labor-Management Partnerships Program

pamegan@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Aida Farmand

Policy Research Specialist

ida1369@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Anibel Ferus-Comelo

Director of Community-Engaged Academic Initiatives

anibel@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Jessie HF Hammerling

Co-Director, Green Economy Program

jesshf@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Beatriz Herrera

Senior Trainer

beatriz@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Brad Hirn

Practitioner in Residence

bhirn@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Savannah Hunter

Policy Research Associate

shunter@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile
Gray version of UC Berkeley Labor Center logo.

Clementina Jara

Program Coordinator

zenaida@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Dilpreet Kahlon

Program Assistant

dkahlon@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile
Mckela Kanu headshot

Mckela Kanu

Research Analyst

mkanu@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Mishal Khan

Lead Policy Researcher

mishalkhan@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Lisa Kresge

Policy Research Associate, Technology and Work Program

lkresge@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Sarah Lawton

Development Coordinator

slawton@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Julie Light

Communications Director

julie.light@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Enrique Lopezlira

Director, Low-Wage Work Program

elopezlira@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Laurel Lucia

Director, Health Care Program

laurel.lucia@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Jenifer MacGillvary

Publications Coordinator

jmacgill@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Danielle Mahones

Director, Leadership Development Program

danielle.mahones@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Alexis Manzanilla

Health Policy Researcher

amanzanilla@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Jane McAlevey

Senior Policy Fellow

janemcalevey@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Katie Miles

Senior Trainer

katiemiles@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Sandy Olgeirson

Communications Coordinator

sandyo@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Nari Rhee

Director, Retirement Security Program

nari@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Bahaar Tadjbakhsh

Coordinator of Student Programs

tbahaar@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Brianna Velasco

Program Coordinator

bavelasco@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Laura Watson

Community of Practice Coordinator for High-Road Training Partnerships

laurawatson@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Carol Zabin

Senior Advisor on the Green Economy

zabin@berkeley.edu

View Full Profile

Emeritus

Steven C. Pitts

Emeritus Associate Chair

Steven Pitts is the creator and host of Black Work Talk, a podcast that looks at the struggles to build Black workers’ collective power and to challenge racial capitalism.

Steven recently retired from the UC Berkeley Labor Center where for 19 years he focused on leadership development and Black worker issues. While there, he produced several reports on Black workers and job quality; launched a Black union leadership school; and co-founded the National Black Worker Center – a network of Black worker centers around the country. (Learn more about Steven's work at the Labor Center.)

Prior to coming to the Labor Center, Steven taught economics for 15 years at the Houston Community College. Before teaching at the community college, he worked in a machine shop in Houston (Hughes Tool Company) for eight years and was active in the United Steelworkers of America local trying to build a stronger and more democratic union.

Meet our Students

Kassandra Hernandez

GSR, Low-Wage Work Program

Kassandra is a GSR with the Low-Wage Work (LWW) team. She is currently a Ph.D. student in Economics at UC Berkeley. As a researcher, she is particularly interested in low-wage labor markets, inequality, and immigration, along with the role of government in including or excluding individuals from resources available to U.S. citizens or lawful permanent residents. Before joining LWW, she supported work on social safety net program usage and college student success through the California Policy Lab. Prior to starting her Ph.D., she was a research analyst at the UCLA Latino Policy and Politics Initiative, focusing on economic mobility and opportunity and COVID-19 impacts on the Latinx community. Her work has been covered in both English and Spanish media and was presented to members of the U.S. Department of State. She holds an M.P.P. and a B.A. in Philosophy with a minor in Labor & Workplace Studies, both from UCLA, and is an alumna of the American Economic Association Summer Program (AEASP). She is a proud Californian, daughter of Mexican immigrants, and first-generation college student.

İrem İnal

GSR, Green Economy Program

İrem İnal (she/her/hers) is a Ph.D. candidate at the Department of Sociology at UC Berkeley. She is writing her dissertation on the politics of the energy transition in rural U.S., with a focus on wind energy in historically fossil fuel producer states. At the Labor Center, she is supporting research towards a high-road green economy in California. She is also part of collaborative research projects on the interest group politics of climate policy in states with Democratic trifectas, cultural politics of sovereign rating agencies in the Eurozone, and recent corporate responses to global price shocks.

Kelly Quinn

GSR, High-Road Training Partnerships Project

Kelly Quinn is a PhD student in sociology. Her research looks at labor market power dynamics and the incidence of occupation-level contracting, particularly as they relate to job quality and security. Quinn is currently helping evaluate the Inland Empire High Road Training Partnerships program, and has previously studied how unstable and unpredictable scheduling arrangements affect service and retail workers as part of the Shift Project. Before coming to Berkeley, she worked as an analyst at a non-profit policy research organization called MDRC.

Laura Schmahmann

GSR, High-Road Training Partnerships Project

Laura is a PhD Candidate within the Department of City and Regional Planning at UC Berkeley. Her dissertation explores the political economy of warehouse development across California, focusing on two case studies - the Inland Empire and Northern San Joaquin Valley. Prior to commencing her PhD, Laura worked as an urban planner for eight years in an economics and planning consulting firm in Australia. She managed a wide range of projects for local, state and federal governments including economic development strategies, housing studies and integrated transport and land use strategies.

Visiting Fellows and Scholars

Jon Hiatt

Visiting Scholar

Jon Hiatt is a union lawyer, who currently serves as Of Counsel to Solidarity Center, based in Washington D.C., while also a Visiting Scholar at the UC Berkeley Labor Center. Previously, Hiatt was General Counsel of the Service Employees International Union from 1987-1996, General Counsel of the AFL-CIO from 1996-2009, and then Chief of Staff and Executive Assistant to AFL-CIO President Richard Trumka from 2009-2017.

John Logan

Visiting Scholar

John Logan, Ph.D., U.S. labor history, University of California, Davis, is an expert on the anti-union industry and anti-union legislation in the U.S., and comparative labor issues, particularly how multinational companies treat employees and unions differently in the U.S. compared to European countries.

Katie Quan

Senior Fellow

Katie Quan is a senior fellow at the UC Berkeley Center for Labor Research and Education. Formerly chair and associate chair of the Labor Center, she retired in 2016, but continues to work at the center on special projects involving research on global labor strategies and executive education for union leaders. In 2010 she co-founded the International Center for Joint Labor Research at Sun Yat-sen University in Guangzhou, China, and was its co-director for four years. In 2014 she received a Fulbright grant to study the apparel supply chain in China at Peking University. Prior to joining the staff of the Labor Center in 1998, Katie Quan was a seamstress, organizer, and international vice-president with the International Ladies’ Garment Workers’ Union, and its successor, UNITE. Learn more about Katie's career and her research.